Beg, Borrow, and Steal (008)

September 7, 2011 at 10:37 PM (Beg Borrow & Steal) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello everyone!  Beg, Borrow, & Steal time again.

If you’re just joining us, these posts are my take on the In My Mailbox meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren.  It’s just a look at the books and book-related materials that come into my possession every week.

I’ve been wondering if I’ll have to change the day when I do these posts because I’ll have class on Wednesdays when school starts up.  Hmm.. but I so enjoy these.  They get me through hump day.  We’ll see what happens.  :)

All right, here are the books I acquired in the past week!

Begged:

Books I bought on sale!

In the Arms of Stone Angels by Jordan Dane

Personal Demons by Lisa Desrochers
Since I like angels, I had to add this to my collection!

Original Sin by Lisa Desrochers
This too!

Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

Chime by Franny Billingsley
The premise hits my awesome button, and the cover is beautiful too.

Hereafter by Tara Hudson
Even though I get creeped out by the idea of drowning,
I am really loving this book.

The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann
Really, really happy I grabbed this.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
I couldn’t resist when I saw it at Borders.

Jenny Pox by JL Bryan
Been hearing about this! Ebook cost me less than a dollar! Can’t wait to read it.

Borrowed:

Checked out from the library.

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
I broke down and borrowed an ebook copy… I really like it so far!

Steals:

Books received for review, and items received through giveaways.

The Mosswoods by Astrid Yrigollen
Received for review through LibraryThing Member Giveaways.

Sebastian and the Afterlife by William J. Barry
Received for review through LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Really eager to read this.

Between by Jessica Warman
ARC won from Once Upon a Twilight.
This was a pleasant surprise in my mailbox!
Thank you OUaT!

signed bookmarks for
Witch Eyes by Scott Tracey
Thank you Mr. Tracey!
Can’t wait to get a book to match. And maybe give the extras away…?

Hawaii pen
from Larissa over at Lari Is Writing.
Won this in my desperate attempt to score a signed book.
I am fully consoled I didn’t win the book by the sheer awesomeness of this pen.
Thanks, Lari!

That’s that!

About an hour and a half left to enter my Back to the Books Giveaway!

And a few days left to enter the 100/300 Follower Giveaway.
We just hit 100 entries today!  I’ll be announcing the third prize soon.  :)

Thanks for stopping by!

14 Comments

  1. BM Dimension said,

    Personal Demons and Original Sin looks good. The Iron King read over the summer and rated highly. Thanks for sharing.

  2. stardazed said,

    I saw Lament at Borders and I was going to get it but decided against it. Hope it’s really good though because I still want to check it out! If I’m lucky, maybe there will be a copy when I go back this weekend! *crosses fingers*

    Thanks so much for checking out my IMM! :-)

    • The Library Page said,

      I actually haven’t read any of Stiefvater’s books yet, but I like the premise of Lament so I couldn’t resist.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. sash and em said,

    Anna and the French Kiss is SO CUTE!!

    Here’s our IMM

    • The Library Page said,

      Good! I think I need a cute book once in a while. Sometimes I feel all magicked out. If that’s even possible. LOL.

  4. jowearsoldcoats said,

    Haha, I read Anna and the French Kiss this week. It’s so sweet I think the dopey smile it gave me has only just faded. I’ll bet you love it.

    Jenny Pox sounds intriguing, never heard of it before!

    Hope you enjoy :)

    • The Library Page said,

      All these great comments about Anna! I’m going to have to make room in my schedule for her AND her french kiss. ;)

      Thanks!

  5. Alison said,

    Oooh I’m jealous you got The Unwanteds. I really want to read that.

    • The Library Page said,

      I have to admit, the cover didn’t really do it for me, but the actual story summary had me hooked. I am totally down for secret schools and magical showdowns!

  6. Ron C. Nieto said,

    Wow… What a great pile!

    Iron King is amazing, I’m sure you’ll love it. Chime looks great to me too – straaaaaight to my TBR, I think it’ll go… – and I’d like to hear your thoghts on Hereafter… mixed feelings!

    Good reading!

    Ron @ Stories of my life

    • The Library Page said,

      Mixed feelings, eh? I’ll have to read on and see for myself. I’ll keep this in mind when I get to writing a review!

  7. Karis (YA Litwit) said,

    Great haul! I am so jealous of all the Borders deals!

    http://yalitwit.blogspot.com/2011/09/in-my-mailbox-monday-14.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

