Follow Friday (006)

January 12, 2012 at 11:38 PM (Follow Friday) (, , , , , )

Hello all!

Sorry for the absence, I’ve been chiseling away at my thesis what with the start of the quarter.

Hope you all enjoy the music recs to tide you over.  :)

Thanks to Parajunkee’s View and Alison Can Read for hosting Follow Friday!

Q: Many readers/bloggers are also big music fans. Tell us about a few of your favorite bands/singers that we should listen to in 2012.

Oh man!  Don’t get me started.  I have to admit a big secret of mine.  I love classical music.  Not like Beethoven and Handel and stuff.  Okay, just kidding, I do like those guys.  I even like when they get spruced up with techno music.  But I have a supreme weakness for modern instrumental music.  So, if I could rec a group or two, I think first up would be Two Steps From Hell.  They mainly do trailer music.  That’s right, the jamming tunes they play in a dramatic movie preview.  That’s them.  Take for instance, Freedom Fighters:

Which was the trailer music for the recent Star Trek film.

And Thomas Bergersen, who is part of Two Steps From Hell, has released his own album.  And my absolute favorite track from that is this gorgeous song, Sonera:

If you like epic music, especially if you’re a writer or artist who wants to “get into the mood” for writing epic scenes, I’d suggest looking into pieces by these fabulous musicians!

Happy music hunting, and thanks for stopping by!

3 Comments

  1. Alison (@AlisonCanRead) said,

    Hopping through. I love classical music. Bach and Dvorak are my fav composers.
    My Hop

  2. melliane said,

    It’s nice there are always some beautiful songs.

    old follower

    here is mine

  3. Florence Price said,

    Hi – Followed you on Twitter for Follow Friday!

    Epic YA Reads

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

